If you are a graduate student or a postdoc, we invite you to apply. If you are a mentor of trainees, please encourage your trainees to apply.

Finalists have been selected!

Selections will be made during the following sessions

YSEA Session 1

Undergrad Presentations | 1 winners to be selected

  • Tri Ha
  • Sophia Palafox
Postdoc Presentations

Postdoc Presentations | 1 winners to be selected

  • Yeganeh Madadi
  • Tyrome Sweet

YSEA Session 2

Graduate student Presentations | 3 winners to be selected

  • David Otohinoyi
  • Adeolu Oluremi
  • Jiawen Chen
  • Amin Akbari Ahangar
  • JaMor Hairston
  • Jiaying Lu
  • Rahmatullah Roche
  • Santhosh Kumar Karthikeyan

Trainees will be presenting in 2 separate but concurrent sessions in 2 different rooms.
Candidates who aren't selected as finalists will have the opportunity to either present a poster or deliver a lightning talk elsewhere in during the conference.

Session 1 would be March 22nd, 4pm-5:00pm while Session 2 would be March 22nd, 4pm-5:30pm.

2024 Young Scientist Excellence Award Applications

Deadline: January 31st, 2024

MCBIOS Young Scientist Excellence

Applications from students and postdoctoral fellows will be rigorously evaluated. The top four candidates will be invited to give an oral presentation in a session dedicated to this award program. In addition to an abstract, participation in this program requires submission of a separate description of the innovation of the research (150 words or less) and the individual's contribution to the work being presented (150 words or less).

Selection of the top four candidates is based on the evaluation of the applications by the MCBIOS board members for quality and impact of the research. The finalists are selected by a panel of judges (including keynote speakers) after the oral presentations. The quality of the professional presentation is the primary consideration for selection of the award recipients. Applicants with demonstrated multidisciplinary contribution and initiative are given preference during final selection. Announcement of the awards will be made during the final luncheon.